powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

GO ME!

02-10-03 - 1:47 p.m.

Carrie and I are on a panel at PFLAG next weekend so I was looking at their website....well I had to email them...on a few things...here's what I said...and then what they said.

Reason for Interest: Website_Improvements

I just want to say...being a transgender person...what you have "We are the parents, family members, and friends of someone who is gay, lesbian,

bi-sexual, or transgendered (surgically changed gender)." on your "who we

are" is not right. transgender does not mean surgically changed gender. Yes

some do use surgery to fix their bodies, however, some do not. I am one of those people. I have not..nor do I plan on (in the near furture)getting

surgery, but I do identfy as trans. Transgender is an unbrella term for

those people who do not fit into the social norms. Transsexual however is a

term that people who have had surgery can identfy with. Please change this.

CJ,

I located the text about which you wrote. On behalf of PFLAG, I apologize if the content of the page was offensive or inappropriate and has caused any displeasure. Based on the information from the PFLAG national website (www.pflag.org), I have updated the sentence to read "We are the parents, family members, and friends of gay, lesbian, bi-sexual, or transgendered people.".

Best Regards,

Jeffrey-PFLAG Webmaster

Letter 2:

Another thing...my sexual orientation is NOT transgender, that is my

Gender orientaion. My sexual and gender identities are different. For

example: Boy, girl, transgender, man, woman, male, female. or gay, straight

bisexual, omnisexual, pansexual. Thank you.

CJ,

The heading of "Sexual Orientation" no longer fit the options available for

choice. It appears the form was updated to include new options but the back

end was not updated to change the name of the options. The name was changed from "Sexual Orientation" to "Category".

Plus I got TransGender Michigan on thier organization list. :)

GO ME!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Subscribe to TransGender_MichiGan
Powered by groups.yahoo.com

"Clixes Check It Out"